We make online payments easier for our clients and partners, allowing them to expand their business.

OUR STORY

The idea for Better Payment was formed in 2008. At this time FinTech was still a rather unpopular industry. Most companies did not grasp the possibilities and the extent of potential yet. Our founder, Björn Bähre, recognized that payment solutions lacked flexibility to serve the markets demands and were far from being comprehensive. Most technologies were impossible to adapt to individual and innovative ways of Online Payments. In the following years, the plan to design a payment solution that would combine comprehensive payment with the flexibility and adaptability to match all payment requirements was formed – Better Payment. In 2013 the company was founded, to reach this goal.

Today Better Payment Germany GmbH distinguishes itself from other payment providers by highly developed in-house products made in Germany, personalized services and our white label offer.

OUR MANAGEMENT TEAM

Better Payment Germany GmbH is made up of professionals who are passionate, energetic and driven to help your online business to become a global success. We have years of experience in Fintech and developing payment processing platforms for financial institutions, both nationally and internationally.

  • Testimonial

    Björn Bähre

    Managing Director

    About
    Björn Bähre

    The last 12 years of Björn Bähre’s professional life have been dedicated to FinTech and online payment industry. Passionate to simplify online payments and to fill the industry gap, Björn Bähre founded Better Payment Germany GmbH in 2013. He has established a sound online payment business which is endorsed by reputable partners like GLS Bank, Deutsche Creditreform and Boniversum. Björn’s goal is to continue building Better Payment as the preferred online service provider for merchants and business partners.

    Björn Bähre and Rik Zahradka have been working together on IT projects for 20 years and therefore have a very dynamic team.


  • Testimonial

    Rik Zahradka

    CTO

    About
    Rik Zahradka

    Rik Zahradka has been an integral part of the company since October 2015 with the position of Chief Technology Officer (CTO). His responsibility for the technological infrastructure includes the following tasks: Application development, deployment, system, network and outsourcing management. He works closely with customers and partners to improve the payment gateway. Rik also assumes the role of Information Security Officer and ensures compliance with compliance and security standards.
    Prior to this, Rik spent more than 10 years at Metaways Infosystems GmbH, where he was external technical director at Kraft Foods and Mondelez International, where he was responsible for all brand and company presences in web, mobile, eCommerce and CRM.

  • Testimonial

    Jonas Busse Rodrigues

    Head of Operations

    About
    Jonas Busse Rodrigues

    Jonas Busse Rodrigues has been part of the Better Payment team since summer 2014. In addition to organizing the processes as Operational Manager, he is responsible for product and account management. Before joining Better Payment, he earned a Bachelor’s degree in Industrial Engineering and is currently studying for a Master’s degree in Human Factors.

 

MILESTONES

2013: 2013: The decision to develop a payment gateway with the existing team of ViVenue GmbH is made, which leads to the incorporation of Better Payment Germany GmbH. Until now ViVenue GmbH was a technical service provider in the IT and payment area without a proprietary payment gateway.

2014: One year after its incorporation, a new investor acquires shares in Better Payment Germany GmbH.

2015: In February Better Payment Germany GmbH presents its prototype and the first customers go live shortly after. Five months later, negotiations are already taking place with more interested parties who want to invest: one of them is the GLS bank from Bochum. Also in 2015, the product JetztZahlen is developed and rolled out.

2016: In February VercaCommerce Pay goes live as the first white label gateway user. Versa Commerce is a SaaS online shop platform provider that will become a strategic e-shop partner for Better Payment Germany GmbH. In May, the acquisition of 10% of Better Payment Shares by GLS Bank is official and the closing of Series A with all existing investors takes place: Two million euros raised. Shortly thereafter, Better Payment is the PCI DSS certified, which is a requirement for security and data protection in the processing of credit card payments. By the end of the year, cooperation with five more German Creditreform is achieved, which use the product JetztZahlen for their debt collection cases.

2017: Four major companies will become white label customers in 2017. The first one is Volksbank Raiffeisenbank Bad Kissingen. The Better Payment Gateway was confirmed to meet the regulatory requirements of German Volksbank covenant. Shortly after, another important white label partner is signed. This is the strategic debt collection & factoring partner Solvendi GmbH from Osnabrück. In this context, the development of the Risk & Decision Engine for fraud prevention and risk control is started. Another major white label customer is Corazon Communication Business Group GmbH & Co. KG, which itself acts as a payment service provider with www.einfachonlinezahlen.de. Furthermore, a promising white label partnership with Collect.ai, a company from the Otto Group, which uses the Better Payment Gateway to process various payment methods for its customers in debtor management, is emerging. Following the successful development of the Better Payment Risk & Decision Engine, the first Solvendi GmbH merchants go live in November.

2018: In May, Better Payment is able to win its first overseas white label partner, AWEC COMEX, based in Chile. In August the product JetztZahlen for the Deutsche Verrechnungsstelle (subsidiary of DVAG) is integrated into the SAP system in cooperation with EOS Köln/Mannheim. One month later, the online payment onboarding route for GLS Bank’s business customers goes live. The cooperation with Creditreform can be further expanded to more than 10 Creditreform entities in Germany.

Our Partners

We are proud that our reputable business partners trust us as their online payment provider. Below you will find additional information on a selection of our partners.

GLS Bank

In spring 2016, GLS Bank became a shareholder of Better Payment Germany GmbH. Since than GLS Bank has successfully enabled its clients to benefit from Better Payment products and is using Better Payment as their Payment Processor of choice. A White Label solution, including comprehensive processes tailored specifically for GLS clients has been introduced in 2017 to complete merchant onboarding even faster.

“People want to be able to pay simply, securely and anywhere. This is exactly what we make possible with Better Payment. We supply social-ecological enterprises the ticket into the electronic trade. In this way, we are helping to make the Internet greener.” (Dirk Karnacher, executive committee of the GLS Bank)

Solvendi

In 2017, Solvendi GmbH became a strategic partner of Better Payment. Solvendi offers comprehensive solutions in the areas of risk management, receivables management, debt collection and factoring. Solvendi has trust in Better Payment’s technology, which functionality has been specially enhanced to meet and extend Solvendi’s processes. In addition, Solvendi uses JetztZahlen and enables debtors to settle outstanding receivables quickly and easily online.

Creditreform

Since 2014, selected regional entities of Creditreform have entered close strategic partnerships with Better Payment. One of the strongest fields of cooperation is the product JetztZahlen. Both Creditreform and Better Payment have set the goal to establish modern and customizable solutions for the settlement of invoices. This includes comfortable ways to collect or to pay outstanding payments and debts online.

Versa Commerce

Verca Commerce has been the e-commerce software partner of Better Payment since 2016. The Better Payment technology is natively integrated into the shop solution. No additional technical integration and no plug-in on merchant side is required.

BECOME A PARTNER

Enjoy the advantages of our strategic network and become one of our partners yourself.

Wir machen Online-Zahlungen für unsere Händler und Partner einfacher und ermöglichen diesen so ihr Geschäft zu erweitern.

UNSERE GRÜNDUNG

Die Idee für Better Payment entstand schon 2008, zu einer Zeit als der Begriff FinTech den wenigsten Unternehmen ein fester Begriff war. Unser Gründer, Björn Bähre, stellt zu dieser Zeit fest, dass es keine genügend flexiblen und umfassenden Bezahllösungen für die zunehmende Nachfrage im Markt gab. Fast alle vorherrschenden Technologien waren wenig anpassbar – gerade was individuelle und innovative Wege des Bezahlens betraf. In den darauffolgenden Jahren entstand der Plan eine Lösung zu schaffen, welche umfassendes Payment anbietet und dabei flexibel genug ist allen Bezahlanforderungen gerecht zu werden – Better Payment eben. 2013 wurde die GmbH mit genau diesem Ziel gegründet.

Heute unterscheidet sich Better Payment Germany GmbH von anderen Bezahlanbietern, durch hoch entwickelte In-House Produkte Made in Germany, personalisierte Dienstleistungen und unser White Label Angebot.

UNSER MANAGEMENT TEAM

Better Payment Germany GmbH besteht aus professionellen Köpfen, welche leidenschaftlich, tatkräftig und angetrieben sind, Ihrem Online Geschäft dabei zu helfen ein globaler Erfolg zu werden. Wir können langjährige Erfahrungen im Bereich FinTech vorweisen und entwickeln Bezahllösungen und Bezahlplattformen für nationale und internationale Finanzinstitute.

  • Testimonial

    Björn Bähre

    Managing Director

    About
    Björn Bähre

    Björn Bähre hat die letzten 12 Jahre seinem beruflichen Leben der FinTech und Online Payment Industrie gewidmet. Leidenschaftlich, wenn es darum geht Payment zu vereinfachen und neue Wege für Payment zu definieren, gründete Björn 2013 die Better Payment Germany GmbH. Er hat ein Online Payment Geschäft aufgebaut, welches von angesehenen Partnern, wie der GLS Bank, Deutsche Creditreform und Boniversum unterstützt wird. Björns Ziel ist der weitere Aufbau von Better Payment als bevorzugter Online Service Provider für Händler und Geschäftspartner.

    Björn Bähre und Rik Zahradka arbeiten bereits seit 20 Jahren an gemeinsamen IT Projekten und weisen daher eine besondere Team Dynamik auf.


  • Testimonial

    Rik Zahradka

    CTO

    About
    Rik Zahradka

    Rik Zahradka ist seit Oktober 2015 mit der Position des Chief Technology Officer (CTO) ein fester Bestandteil des Unternehmens. Unter seine Verantwortlichkeit für die technologische Infrastruktur fallen die folgenden Aufgaben: Entwicklung von Applikationen, Deployment, System-, Netzwerk- und Outsourcing-Management. Dabei arbeitet er in engem Austausch mit den Kunden und Partnern, um das Payment Gateway zu verbessern. Zudem übernimmt Rik die Aufgaben des Information Security Officers und sorgt für die Einhaltung von Compliance- und Sicherheitsstandards.
    Zuvor war Rik über 10 Jahre bei Metaways Infosystems GmbH, wo er als externer Technischer Leiter bei Kraft Foods und Mondelez International für alle Marken- und Firmenauftritte in Web, Mobile, eCommerce und CRM verantwortlich war.


  • Testimonial

    Jonas Busse Rodrigues

    Head of Operations

    About
    Jonas Busse Rodrigues

    Jonas Busse Rodrigues ist seit dem Sommer 2014 Teil des Teams bei Better Payment. Neben der Organisation der Prozesse als Operational Manager, trägt er Verantwortung für die Bereiche Produkt- und Accountmanagement. Vor seiner Zeit bei Better Payment absolvierte er seinen Bachelor in Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen und studiert derzeit neben dem Beruf den Master-Studiengang Human Factors. 

 

MEILENSTEINE

2013: Es wird der Beschluss gefasst, ein eigenes Payment Gateway mit dem existierenden Team der ViVenue GmbH zu entwickeln, woraus die Gründung der Better Payment Germany GmbH hervorgeht. Die ViVenue GmbH war bis dato ein technischer Dienstleister im IT und Payment Bereich.

2014: Ein Jahr nach der Gründung beteiligt sich bereits ein weiterer Investor an der Better Payment Germany GmbH.

2015: Im Februar präsentiert die Better Payment Germany GmbH ihren Prototyp und erste Testkunden gehen live. Fünf Monate später finden bereits Verhandlungen mit weiteren Interessenten für eine Beteiligung statt: Die GLS Bank aus Bochum. In diesem Jahr wird außerdem das Produkt JetztZahlen entwickelt und eingeführt.

2016: Im Februar geht VercaCommerce Pay als erster White Label Gateway Nutzer live. Versa Commerce ist ein SaaS Onlineshop Plattform Anbieter, der fortan ein strategischer Partner in Sachen E-Shops für die Better Payment Germany GmbH wird. Im Mai ist die Beteiligung der GLS Bank mit 10% offiziell und die Closing Series A mit allen Bestandsinvestoren erfolgt in Höhe von zwei Millionen Euro. Kurze Zeit später erhält die Better Payment Germany GmbH die PCI DSS Zertifizierung, welche eine Voraussetzung bezüglich Sicherheit und Datenschutz für das Processing von Kreditkartenzahlungen ist. Bis zum Ende des Jahres konnte die Zusammenarbeit mit fünf weiteren deutschen Creditreformen ausgebaut werden, die das Produkt JetztZahlen für Ihre Inkassofälle nutzen.

2017: Im Jahr 2017 werden vier bedeutende Unternehmen White Label Kunde. Zum einen ist dies der VR Bund mit der Volksbank Raiffeisenbank Bad Kissingen, die damit das Vertrauen in den Einsatz des Better Payment Gateways für die deutschen Volksbanken bestätigt. Wenig später kann bereits ein weiterer bedeutender White Label Partner unter Vertrag genommen werden. Dabei handelt es sich um den strategischen Inkasso & Factoring Partner Solvendi GmbH aus Osnabrück. In diesem Zusammenhang wird die Entwicklung einer eigenen Risk & Decision Engine zur Betrugsprävention und Risikosteuerung bei unsicheren Zahlarten gestartet. Ein weiterer großer White Label Kunde ist die Corazon Communication Business Group GmbH&Co. KG, welche mit www.einfachonlinezahlen.de selbst als Payment Service Provider auftritt. Weiterhin entsteht eine vielversprechende White Label Partnerschaft mit Collect.ai, ein Unternehmen aus dem Otto Konzern, welches das Better Payment Gateway zur Abwicklung von verschiedenen Zahlarten für ihre Kunden im Debitorenmanagement nutzt. Nach erfolgreicher Entwicklung der Better Payment Risk & Decision Engine gehen die ersten Händlern der Solvendi GmbH im November live.

2018: Im Mai kann die Better Payment Germany GmbH ihren ersten White Label Partner aus Übersee für sich gewinnen, die AWEC COMEX mit Sitz in Chile. Im August wird das Produkt JetztZahlen für die Deutsche Verrechnungsstelle (Tochter der DVAG) in das SAP System in Zusammenarbeit mit EOS Köln/Mannheim integriert. Einen Monat später geht die Onboarding Strecke für E-Commerce der Geschäftskunden der GLS Bank live. Die Zusammenarbeit mit der Creditreform kann auf über 10 Filialen in Deutschland ausgeweitet werden.

Unsere Partner

Wir sind stolz darauf, dass unsere angesehenen Geschäftspartner uns als Online Payment Provider vertrauen und unser Geschäftsmodell um Ihre Expertise in gemeinschaftlicher Zusammenarbeit erweitern. Hier finden Sie zusätzliche Informationen zu einer Auswahl unserer Partner.

GLS Bank

Seit dem Frühjahr 2016 ist die GLS Bank bei der Better Payment Germany GmbH beteiligt und hat die Möglichkeiten ihrer Kunden erfolgreich ausgeweitet. Die GLS Bank bietet ihren Geschäftskunden auf diese Weise einen erleichterten Einstieg in den Online Handel an und die Möglichkeit Online-Payments mit einem vertrauenswürdigen Partner abzuwickeln. Dazu hat Better Payment mit der GLS Bank eine White Label Lösung erarbeitet, bei welcher der Onboarding-Prozess noch schneller abgewickelt werden kann.

„Die Menschen wollen einfach, sicher und überall bezahlen können. Genau das machen wir mit Better Payment möglich. Wir liefern sozial-ökologischen Unternehmen die Eintrittskarte in den elektronischen Handel. So tragen wir dazu bei, dass das Internet grüner wird.“ (Dirk Karnacher, Vorstand der GLS Bank)

Creditreform

Seit dem Jahr 2014 sind ausgewählte regionale Gesellschaften der Creditreform enge strategische Partnerschaften mit der Better Payment Germany GmbH eingegangen. So sehen diese zum Beispiel im Produkt JetztZahlen eine moderne und individualisierbare Lösung zur Bezahlung von Rechnungen im Inkasso-Geschäft.

Solvendi

Seit 2017 ist das Inkassounternehmen Solvendi aus Osnabrück ein strategischer Partner der Better Payment Germany GmbH. Solvendi bietet umfassende Lösungen in den Bereichen Risikomanagement, Forderungsmanagement, Inkasso und Forderungskauf an. Dabei setzt Solvendi auf die Technologie von Better Payment, deren Funktionalität speziell auf die Prozesse und Bedürfnisse von Solvendi hin erweitert wurde. Darüber hinaus nutzt Solvendi JetztZahlen und ermöglicht Debitoren offene Forderungen schnell und einfach Online zu begleichen.

Versa Commerce

Seit 2016 ist Verca Commerce der E-Commerce Partner der Better Payment Germany GmbH.  Die Better Payment Technologie ist nativ in die Shop-Lösung integriert. Es wird keine zusätzliche technische Integration und kein Plugin auf Seiten des Händlers benötigt.

PARTNER WERDEN

Genießen Sie die Vorteile unseres strategischen Netzwerks und werden Sie selbst ein
Partner von Better Payment.